EPA Announces Scholarship Winners for 2018

Bethany Peterson, a student at Wheaton College, has been announced as the 2018 winner of the $2,000 Jerry Jenkins Scholarship. A news writer for the campus newspaper, The Wheaton Record, Peterson’s vocational goal is to be an investigative news reporter.

“Bethany is especially strong in writing hard news and working on deadline,” wrote journalism professor Tim Morgan. “She has an excellent grasp of the elements of journalism, journalism ethics, and AP style.”

Peterson is the third winner of the Jerry Jenkins Scholarship which was established in 2016 by the generous donation of best-selling author and former EPA President Jerry Jenkins. Jenkins has committed $10,000 to EPA to provide a $2,000 scholarship each year for five years.

The Mel Larson Scholarship, in the amount of $1,000, will be awarded to Andie Naugler, a journalism student at Point Loma Nazarene University.

“I pursued an education in journalism because I love to tell people’s stories and speak for the voiceless,” Naugler wrote in her application for the scholarship.

“Andie is a deep and insightful writer,” wrote Dean Nelson, PLNU’s director of the journalism program. “I am impressed with the ethical courage she brings to her reporting.”

The judges for the scholarship contest were Michael Longinow from Biola University, Marquita Smith from John Brown University, and Deb Huff from Liberty University.

The awards were announced on April 6, 2018, during the annual business meeting of the Evangelical Press Association in Orlando, FL.

Posted April 13, 2018