EPA Scholarship Winners for 2017 Announced

Taylor University undergrad Becca Robb is the winner of the 2017 Jerry Jenkins Scholarship in the amount of $2,000. Robb, a junior journalism major with a perfect 4.0 GPA, was chosen from a group of seven applicants.

Robb is co-editor-in-chief of Taylor’s student newspaper, The Echo. She is a 2016 graduate of World Magazine’s World Journalism Institute.

“Growing up ... I didn't understand why we needed strong journalism, or even what that would look like,” wrote Robb in her application for the scholarship. “Since working with Taylor University's student newspaper and World Magazine, I've witnessed the ability and responsibility of journalists to hold the powerful accountable and give voice to the voiceless."

Robb is the second winner of the Jerry Jenkins Scholarship which was established in 2016 by the generous donation of best-selling author and former EPA President Jerry Jenkins. Jenkins has committed $10,000 to EPA to provide a $2,000 scholarship each year for five years.

The Mel Larson Scholarship, in the amount of $1,000 will be awarded to another Taylor student, Natalie Nohr, who is pursuing a course of study in journalism and media writing.

“Media is flawed—its heart needs a jump for it to beat in rhythms of fact and truth,” wrote Nohr. “Christian journalists can be the shock that defibrillates the gasping, struggling life source of media.”

Donna Downs, co-chair of Taylor University’s Department of Communication and faculty adviser of The Echo, said she was proud of her students.

“Becca Robb and Natalie Nohr are both well-deserving recipients of the Evangelical Press Association’s scholarships,” said Downs. “They are excellent writers who strive to make a positive difference through putting words together well and telling genuine stories of real people. Their writing is compelling; they represent both Taylor and the journalism field well.”

The Colorado Springs-based scholarship committee consisted of former EPA President Dean Ridings, Alliance Life Managing Editor Martha Krienke, and Compassion magazine editor Leanna Summers.

The awards were announced on April 11, 2017, during the annual business meeting of the Evangelical Press Association in Lombard, IL.


About the EPA Scholarship program
About the Jerry Jenkins Scholarship
Past winners
Scholarship Application
Make a donation to the EPA Scholarship Fund