Merrill, Sanders, White Granted Honorary Membership

The EPA Board of Directors has granted honorary membership to three longstanding members who have provided distinguished service to EPA and to the industry. The action came during the Fall 2015 board meeting.

The new inductees are Dean Merrill, Mavis Sanders and Terry White.

Honorary membership, also known as Member Emeritus, is accorded to select individuals who are retired or have reached the age of 70.

Dean Merrill 100x125

Dean Merrill first participated in EPA in the late 1960s while at Campus Life magazine. He later moved on to David C. Cook Publishing Co., Leadership Journal, Christian Herald and the Focus on the Family magazine group.

Along the way, Merrill served EPA as a convention chairman, seminar presenter, contest judge and board member, including a role as president from 1985 to 1987.

He is the author of 10 solo books plus another 35 collaborations, including one ECPA Christian Book of the Year and two Gold Medallion winners.

Mavis Sanders 100x125

Mavis Sanders spent nearly 40 years in periodical and book publishing. Early in her career, she was the associate editor of Decision magazine and editor of CBA’s Bookstore Journal. Later, she joined Victor Books/Scripture Press and Tyndale House in book publishing but continued networking with EPA.

Sanders chaired one convention, served on the committees for two others, chaired the awards committee and served on the ethics committee. She served multiple terms on the board, including the role of president from 1988 to 1990.

Sanders also spent time as editor of APOGEE, a bi-monthly newsletter for former Apollo Astronaut James B. Irwin’s High Flight Foundation.

Terry White 100x125

Terry White’s storied career in Christian journalism began in 1968 when he attended his first EPA convention in Minneapolis. He has attended all but five conventions since then, likely making him the most recognizable person within EPA. He has served EPA in multiple capacities such as convention chair, scholarship committee, ethics committee, awards committee, contest judge and other areas. He served as President from 1999 to 2001.

Publications that he has been part of over the years include The Standard (Baptist General Conference), Brethren Missionary Herald Magazine, FGBC World, Inside Journal, Twin Cities Christian, Minnesota Christian Chronicle, The Christian Communicator, Christian Management Report, Christian BusinessLife Digest, and Potomac Falls Together.

In 2002, White received the Joseph Bayly Lifetime Achievement Award from EPA for his distinguished service to EPA and the field of journalism.

With a Ph.D. in Journalism and Mass Communication from the University of Iowa, White currently teaches journalism at Grace College in Winona Lake, Indiana. As the author of the centennial history of the town of Winona Lake, he serves as the unofficial town historian, volunteering as a docent in the Winona History Center and Billy Sunday Museum.

Posted Oct. 7, 2015