Nominees Announced for EPA Board Election

When the 2020 convention was canceled a year ago, two nominees for board positions—Danny Conn, for treasurer, and Warren Maye, for adviser—could not be voted in as planned. Instead, they will be voted on this spring. They will be joined on the ballot by 2021 nominees for president-elect and secretary.

The 2021 nominating committee made up of Dan Stelzer (Answers magazine), Eric Thomsen (ONE magazine) and Sarah Brown (Evangelicals) has nominated Sandra Glahn for president-elect and Leah Pickard for secretary.

Notice for additional nominations

Members may make additional nominations for any of these four positions. However, it is necessary to confirm, in advance, the eligibility and willingness to serve by the potential candidate. To submit a nomination, please email the executive director the name and position for the nomination and confirmation that the individual is willing to serve if elected. The deadline to submit a nomination is March 31, 2021.

Because the annual business meeting will be held virtually this year, voting for the board nominees and the bylaw changes will be held online through a secure online voting platform during the month of April.

About the candidates

Danny Conn has more than 35 years in ministry as a pastor, minister of education, and Christian schoolteacher and principal. He has served as the editorial director of curriculum at Randall House since 2006. Danny has been attending EPA conventions regularly since 2010 and served on the convention committee for the 2013 Nashville convention. Since 2015, he has been the coordinator for the awards contest.

Having been attending EPA conventions since 2002, Warren L. Maye is editor-in-chief of Salvation Army publications in the USA Eastern Territory. He has authored books on parenting, ministry and Salvation Army history. His writing has been published, recognized and awarded by leading media organizations including EPA, Holiness Today magazine, The Journal News (Rockland County, N.Y.), Harper Collins, Random House, Fairchild Publications and The War Cry magazine.

Nominated for president-elect, Dr. Sandra Glahn is professor of Media Arts and Worship at Dallas Theological Seminary, where she served as editor in chief of their flagship magazine for seventeen years. She is the author or coauthor of more than 25 books, including the Coffee Cup Bible Study Series. She is a contributing writer for Fathom magazine. Sandra has a long history of involvement with EPA that includes perfect attendance at EPA’s annual conferences since 2004 and chairing the 2010 convention committee. She is the current board secretary, completing her second term as a board member this year.

Leah Pickard is a senior writer and content strategist serving with ABWE, an evangelical mission agency based in Harrisburg, PA with more than 1,000 missionaries serving in 70 countries. Prior to her current role, she served for 11 years as ABWE’s Director of Strategic Communications, building a communications team that launched and produces the organization’s social media content, website, a daily blog, and a missions podcast, as well as marketing and fundraising materials and Message magazine. She has been a member of EPA since 2013.

Posted March 16, 2021