Joseph Bayly Award for Outstanding Service

The Joseph Bayly Award for Outstanding Service recognizes extraordinary lifetime achievement in the field of Christian journalism.

About Joseph Bayly

Joe Bayly was the initial east coast staff director for InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, editor of His magazine, and director of InterVarsity Press. He served as EPA President from 1960 to 1962.

From 1961 to 1986, he wrote the popular “Out of My Mind” column in Eternity magazine, and among his books are “The Gospel Blimp and Other Parables,” “Psalms of My Life,” “The View from a Hearse,” “Winterflight,” and “The Last Thing We Talk About: Help and Hope for Those Who Grieve.”

At the time of his death in 1986 he was an executive vice-president at David C. Cook publishing house.


Award Recipients

Bill Petersen — 1997

Bill Petersen’s first published article was in Youth for Christ magazine, later Campus Life, back in 1946. He was the founding editor of Christian Bookseller Magazine and later served as editor of Eternity magazine from 1957 to 1986. He was very active in EPA, attending most EPA conventions from 1951 to 1995 and serving as EPA President from 1981 to 1983.

Robert Walker — 1998

Robert Walker was one of EPA’s founding members and the first EPA board secretary. He was instrumental in starting publications such as HIS, Sunday, Christian Bookseller (renamed Christian Retailing), and Christian Light & Missions. Sunday magazine was renamed Christian Life and later merged with Charisma in 1986.

Harold Myra — 2000

Harold Myra served as the CEO of Christianity Today International for 32 years, from 1975 to 2007. Under his leadership, the organization grew from one magazine to a communications company with a dozen magazines, co-published books, and a major Internet ministry. Myra started his journalistic career with Youth for Christ magazine, which under his leadership became Campus Life magazine. He is the author of five novels, numerous children’s and nonfiction books, and hundreds of magazine articles,

Myra has taught writing and publishing at the Wheaton College Graduate School.

He has received various awards, among them the prestigious Magazine Publisher’s Award and the James Deforest Murch Award from the National Association of Evangelicals.

Terry White — 2002

Terry White’s storied career in Christian journalism began in 1968 when he attended his first EPA convention. Publications that he has been part of over the years include The Standard (Baptist General Conference), Brethren Missionary Herald Magazine, FGBC World, Inside Journal, Twin Cities Christian, Minnesota Christian Chronicle, The Christian Communicator, Christian Management Report, Christian BusinessLife Digest, and Potomac Falls Together.

He has taught journalism and advised student publications at Grace College, the University of Iowa, Bethel College, Crown College and Northwestern College. He’s taught at writer’s conferences, including the Decision School of Christian Writing, Mount Hermon, the Greater Philadelphia Writer’s Conference, The Writing Academy, and others.

Spanning a period of six decades, he has served EPA in multiple capacities such as convention chair, scholarship committee, ethics committee, awards committee, contest judge and other areas. He served as President from 1999 to 2001.

In 1999 he received the James Deforest Murch Award from the National Association of Evangelicals.

Roger Palms — 2004

Roger Palms was the editor of Decision magazine from 1976 to 1998. He served as president of EPA from 1991 to 1993 and served in other volunteer roles within EPA before and since then. He is the author of 16 books and hundreds of magazine and newspaper articles. He continues to write and to teach writers around the world.

Back to top button