EPA Announces Scholarship Winners for 2019

The EPA board has announced the winners in the annual student journalism scholarship contest. Fourteen students, from ten different institutions, applied for the scholarships. A total of $4,000 was awarded to four students.

The Jerry Jenkins Scholarship, in the amount of $2,000, went to Dallas Theological Seminary student Seana Scott.

“Seana really wants to make a difference in the lives of people,” wrote Betsy Rumer, executive pastor at Scott’s church. “She has been writing her own blog and shares honestly and authentically with her readers both wise words of encouragement and comfort.”

Scott has not waited for graduation to pitch stories and find outlets for her writing. She has already been published in EPA member publications Just Between Us, Fathom, and Brio, where her story on fashion designer Molly Kate Cline graced the cover of its February issue.

The Jerry Jenkins Scholarship is funded by a five-year grant from the best-selling author and former EPA president.

The inaugural Douglas J. Trouten Memorial Scholarship, in the amount of $1,000, was awarded to University of North Texas student Tyler Cleveland. Cleveland describes himself as a “backpack journalist reporting on technology, faith, and family.” With a knack for photography, he wants to pursue a career in visual storytelling.

The Douglas J. Trouten Memorial Scholarship was established in 2018 honoring the life of EPA’s former executive director whose life was cut short by cancer.

Additional scholarships in the amount of $500 each were awarded to John Brown University student Catherine Nolte (left) and Point Loma Nazarene University student Natallie Rocha (right).

Learn more about the scholarship program at


Posted April 17, 2019

Related Articles

Back to top button